Riding the Aldub Bandwagon

Babala: No coherence in my writing. Spare me. Like you, cant contain in one post this world wide phenomenon. Mind you, i wrote this while in work. -love from AUH.

 

Since the Aldub phenomenon is hitting by storm and changing the norms of local television viewers, be that as it may, it has also a huge impact for social media entertainment. Most of the time, I surf tumblr and blogging sites to distract myself from stress and find something that has wits and tickles my imagination. I used to write fanfiction back then. I find this platform very handy and personalized to indulge my fan cravings. Btw, im 26 years old and working abroad professionally. So yes, Im also in this frenzy just recently after that first encounter video. Though not really a television junkie as I was used to surf, facebook, and youtube, I find this Aldub- Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza , intriguing and good for point of talk.

Social Media. The increasing popularity of social sites has gained attention as the most viable communication choice for different users. It is a form of media that makes people be able to meet and connect with a wider circle. Nowadays, it seems like it is a big part of our life. Here I can insert Aldub (as they are also invading my daily routine). When your friends are rooting for a tandem just because todays a good episode from the usual tv drama while me scrolling on facebook with mobile phone, can’t keep up with the hype. Come to realize this form of entertainment only serves monotonic range of audience, the couching surfers. Though actors/actresses are also in social media the amusement stops after the show closes. Good thing this Kalyeserye videos are freely available to Facebook users without clicking a link. (Cause when you click a link there goes a boundary between social media and commercialized entertainment.)

The show’s storyline is plain Filipino antics but what it makes refreshing is the execution and style of delivery. It is live; it is experimental, genuinely funny, and it’s very interactive. We can see them acting on the streets real time. When they laugh hysterically, we giggle on our seats. When they smile, we grin. When they fall hard, we fall harder. It has a lot of excitement and surprises and the people behind the show remain experimental for they let the two people involved play their part. Everyones talking about that Aldub first split screen meeting. It is an accident but like love, it just so happens. Their reaction is so honest and sincere and that’s it. Boom! Everyone’s riding the bandwagon.

More than goodvibes and kiligness, the point of the show is righteousness. Though Lola Nidora is the number 1 hindrance for this forbidden love, her “paalala” is somewhat swak na swak to the new generation. This is the kind of show that we wanted the young generation to experience. They only used clean jokes, no other affairs or amnesia. I like it that somehow this kind of melodrama, though in comedic way, still hit to Filipinos.

P.S. I’ll try to write about Maine for my next post since she represents the social media generation. I like her too!

About larrythess

Currently working in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi as CPA. My profession never tells me who i am until i fangirl, read books, watch movies and do long night preppy talks over the internet. My ultimate dream is to own an empire. char! Began writing personal journals since 2000, eventually open this blog to publish the torn pages. Memories are my foods and I’d like to think that i have words smartly uttered.
This entry was posted in Fangirl Heart, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

